About Red Rose Rock Shop
Dick’s Rock Museum
In 1964, Dick Siebenaler, a geologist and lapidary enthusiast, purchased Cy’s Rock Museum. The new Dick’s Rock Museum and rock shop operated for 42 years under Dick, his wife, Marilyn, and their daughters who ran the shop for years after their parents passed. In 2003, The Siebenaler daughters sold Dick’s Rock Museum and rock shop to Carl Scott, a close friend and supplier of rose quartz. The Siebenaler family knew that the shop would be in good hands to preserve the legacy of Dick’s Rock Museum.
Dick’s Rock Museum, now an official historical landmark of Estes Park, Colorado, is an eclectic blend of gems and minerals collected by Dick and his family over many years. The collection includes agates, petrified woods and a multitude of exotic minerals from around the world, butterfly geodes, coprolites (fossilized dino dung), jewelry and even a display of how rocks look through the stages of being cut and polished.
Visit Dick’s Rock Museum, a historical landmark, free of charge!
Scott Red Rose Quartz Mine
Carl Scott and his family had supplied rose quartz to Dick for many years, from the Scott Red Rose Quartz mine in Custer, South Dakota, which has been in Carl’s family since the late 1800’s.
The Scott Red Rose Quartz mine, one of the few rose quartz mines in operation, is located southeast of Custer and is best known for the largest deposits of high quality rose quartz in the United States. The mine has yielded the most desirable colored rose quartz in the US and is recognized worldwide as a source of deep rose colored quartz. For many years the best material from the mine was sent to Germany and China for carving into ornamental objects and cutting into beads for necklaces and other jewelry. A beautifully carved bowl from rose quartz out of the Scott mine was donated to the Field Museum in Chicago by Edna Scott, wife of Samuel Scott, Carl’s great-grandfather.